• An Indian takeaway in Manchester has been crowned northern Takeaway of the Year

An Indian takeaway in Manchester has been crowned northern Takeaway of the Year

11 October 2023

The annual Food Awards England 2023 were in full swing this week, celebrating the very best in hospitality up and down the country. Shedding a light on some of the restaurants going above and beyond for their guests, Monton takeaway Zafrani took home the accolade for Takeaway of the Year North.

Chosen based off public votes, Zafrani beat some stiff competition and was recognised for its great cooking. This isn’t the first win for the Eccles-based takeaway, as it won the same award back in 2016 and, in 2018, it was also crowned Best Takeaway of the Year in the whole of the country.

Known for its excellent selection of both traditional and chef specials, Zafrani’s menu combines British ingredients with contemporary Indian flavours. You’ll find Bhunas, Vindaloos, Jalfrezis and more on the menu, alongside appetisers and unique takes on classics including Balti Exotica, Zafrani Ginger and Kacchi Biryani that’s cooked with lamb on the bone, sultanas, coconut, cardomom, indian spices and herbs and served with boiled egg, coriander and a rogan josh sauce.

Manchester cooking school Food Sorcery also took home the award for Cookery School of the Year. The schoo and event space first opened in Didsbury back in 2016. Their second site opened at Deansgate Square last year.

A Spokesperson for The Food Awards England 2023 commented: “We received an overwhelming response from the public, who nominated some fantastic establishments across the country.

“These awards are a testament to the passion and dedication of the country’s food industry, and the hard work of those who provide exceptional culinary experiences to their customers. The winners should be proud of their achievement, as they represent the very best of England’s food scene, and are a true reflection of the quality and diversity of the industry.

“Congratulations to all of the winners and finalists, who have demonstrated excellence in their respective categories.”